Has George R R Martin children

George R.R. Martin

No one will be alive by the last book. In fact, they all die in the fifth. The sixth book will be just a thousand-page description of snow blowing across the graves ...
- Joked George R.R. Martin when asked which character survived the end of the book series.

George R.R. Martin

George Raymond Richard Martin



Place of birth:


Author, Senior Co-Producer

game of Thrones

George R.R. Martin is an American writer, screenwriter, and producer primarily active in the science fiction, fantasy, and horror genres. He is the author of the series of novels The Song of Ice and Fire, on which the television series game of Thrones based. He contributes to the series in various roles, including as a senior producer, consultant and writer.

He wrote the script for the eighth episode of the first season, the ninth episode of the second season, the seventh episode of the third season and the second episode of the fourth season. It was originally planned that Martin would write the script for one episode of each season of the series, but he announced in an interview that he would not write a script for the fifth season due to work on the next novel.

Martin made a cameo in the unreleased pilot for the series, where he impersonated a dealer from Pentos.

life and career

Martin was born on September 20, 1948 in Bayonne, New Jersey. His first professional sale was the short story The Hero in 1970, which was published in Galaxy magazine in February 1971. Also in 1970 he graduated from Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois, with a bachelor's degree in journalism with summa cum laude. A year later he completed his master’s degree.

From 1972 to 1974 he volunteered at the social welfare organization VISTA in Cook County, Illinois. From 1973 to 1976 he organized several chess tournaments for the Continental Chess Association. From 1976 George Martin taught journalism for two years at Clark College in Dubuque, Iowa. During this time he only wrote on the side, which was not to change until 1979. He is a member of the Science Fiction Writers of America (SFWA), where he was South-Central Regional Director from 1977 to 1979 and served as Vice President from 1996 to 1998. He is also a member of the Horror Writers of America (HWA) and the Writers' Guild of America.

Between 1987 and 1993 he oversaw a large part of the individual Wild Cards books as editor and co-author.


After the publication of his first novels, he made a detour into the film industry in 1986 and became a screenwriter for Twilight Zone for CBS Television. In 1987 he also wrote scripts for the successful show Beauty and the Beast, which he also produced from 1988 onwards. However, he had less success as an executive producer and screenwriter for Doorways in 1992.

The Song of Ice and Fire

In the 1990s, Martin returned to the freelance writing profession. In 1996 the first volume of his fantasy epic "The Song of Ice and Fire", initially based on three novels, was published. The first volume appeared in 1996 and nine years later it was number one on the New York Times bestseller list and number one on the Wall Street Journal list in 2005 with the fourth part. The fifth book was published in 2011 and celebrated worldwide success due to the series that started in the same year. Due to their enormous size, the books in the series are divided into several (in Germany two) volumes per book in many countries.

Because of his work, Martin is often compared to J. R. R. Tolkien, who also created a great fantasy saga. But in an interview, when asked about his religiosity, he pointed out the crucial difference between himself and Tolkien. Martin said he was fascinated by religion but did not consider himself a believer. That would be the part that is missing from the Tolkien books.

In 2007, HBO bought the rights to the series and worked on it with Martin, who was given co-determination and became an executive producer. The HBO television series Game of Thrones, based on the book series, has been broadcast since 2011.



  • In 1979 his childless marriage to Gale Burnick, which he had entered into in 1975, also ended.
  • On February 15, 2011, Martin married his longtime girlfriend, Parris McBride.
  • He lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico.

coat of arms

Martin has chosen the turtle as his personal heraldic animal and often appears with a pin on his hat or lapel. At the Game of Thrones panel at San Diego Comic Con in 2012, he said

"Turtles have always been my sigil, I suppose. When I was a kid, growing up in Bayonne, NJ, I lived in a federal housing project, and we were not allowed to have a dog or cats. The only pets I could have were turtles. So, I had an entire toy castle filled with dime-store turtles. I gave them all names, and since they were living in a toy castle, I decided they were all knights and kings ... and I made up stories about how they killed each other and betrayed each other and fought for the kingdom. So, Game of Thrones, actually began with turtles. I decided later to recast it with actual human beings. "

Works (selection)

Forerunner to A Song of Ice and Fire

  • The Hedge Knight, 2004
  • Sworn Sword, 2008
  • The Mystery Knight, 2010

A song of ice and fire novels

  • 1996 A Game of Thrones (German two-volume: The Lords of Winterfell, 1997, The Legacy of Winterfell, 1998)
  • 1998 A Clash of Kings (German two-volume: The Throne of the Seven Kingdoms, 2000, Die Saat des Goldenen Löwen, 2000)
  • 2000 A Storm of Swords (German: Storm of Swords, 2001, The Queen of Dragons, 2002)
  • 2005 A Feast for Crows (German two-volume: Time of the Crows, 2006, The Dark Queen, 2006)
  • 2011 A Dance with Dragons (German two-volume: Der Sohn des Greifen, 2012, A Dance with Dragons, 2012)


  • 1974 Hugo Award for the best short novel A song for Lya
  • 1975 Locus Award for the best short novel The Storms of Windhaven with Lisa Tuttle
  • 1979 Nebula Award, Hugo Award and Locus Award for the best story Sand kings
  • 1979 Hugo Award and Locus Award for the best short story The Way of Cross & Dragon
  • 1980 Locus Award for the best short novel Nightflyer
  • 1981 Locus Award for the best story Guardians
  • 1983 Locus Award for the best story The Monkey Treatment
  • 1985 Nebula Award for Best Narration Portraits of his Children
  • 1987 Bram Stoker Award for Best Narration The Pear-Shaped Man
  • 1989 World Fantasy Award for the best short novel Skin trade
  • 1996 Hugo Award for the best short novel Blood of the Dragon
  • 1996 Locus Award for the best novel A Game of Thrones
  • 1998 Locus Award for the best novel A clash of kings
  • 2000 Locus Award for the best novel A Storm of Swords
  • 2012 Locus Award for the best novel A dance with dragons

See also:

Further pages: